Alain-Martin Richard

Quebec City

 

Alain-Martin Richard

Quebec City

Viens, on va regarder passer les marmottes | 2017

 

Photo : Charles-Frédérick Ouellet

Alain-Martin Richard will create a performance piece with the travelers; a critical/subverted self-reflection, a “mirror within a mirror effect” that addresses themes of speed and immobility. The public will be invited to take their photograph with the artist in a series of four takes, standing motionless next to a text. After each shot, the exhibited photo will change.

Over the past several years, performer, editor, critic, essayist, and curator Alain-Martin Richard has developed a multidisciplinary practice that touches on questions of art in society and the practice of art as poetic action – like a philosophical act. Located between performance and manoeuvre, his work begins with a strategy he calls “acted-dialogue,” where each action is intended to correspond to the location where the work takes place.

Alain-Martin Richard invites passers-by to take a few minutes to have their photo taken during the afternoons June 16th, 21st and 30th. The final installation-action will be completed on July 4th.

Speed. Road-kill. Gas. Pit stop. Yellow. Green. A rainbow of colours and sounds. Crows and gulls on the lookout. A tray for coffee and cakes. Idle trucks parked in a row. Fast food. Semi-trailers. Barking dogs, shitting dogs. Doors rattling. Crisis, family feuds. Yawning stretch. Relax a bit. Have a bite on the picnic table. A laugh among the woooosh of cars. Overflowing trash cans. Repacking. On the road again. To the ocean, to the city, to the States, to the Beauce, to Johan-Beetz Bay.

– Alain-Martin Richard


Previous Works

Exposition sur corde à linge

2016 | photo Alain-Martin Richard

Montreal

Essai d’extraction

2009 | photo Ivan Binet

Quebec City, Folie/Culture

Le bloc que j’habite

2014 | photo Alain-Martin Richard

Quebec City, la Manif d’art.

Achetez un sans abris québécois

2009 | photo Francis Arguin

Beijing, 2009

Alain-Martin Richard

Québec

 

Alain-Martin Richard

Québec

Alain-Martin Richard réalisera une performance avec les voyageurs, une mise en abyme critique sur le thème de la vitesse et de l’immobilité. Il s’agit d’une série de quatre photographies où il invitera les gens de passage à se faire prendre en photo avec lui, immobiles à côté d’un texte. À chaque prise de vue, la photo exposée changera.

Performeur, éditeur, critique, essayiste et commissaire, Alain-Martin Richard a développé au fil des ans une pratique multidisciplinaire sur les questions de l’art dans la société, sur la pratique de l’art comme action poétique, comme une philosophie en acte. Entre la performance et la manœuvre, il travaille à partir d’une stratégie qu’il nomme « dialogue-agi », où chacune des actions se veut être en phase avec le lieu où elle se déroule.

Alain-Martin Richard invite les passants à prendre quelques minutes pour s’y faire photographier les 21, 27 et 30 juin en après-midi. L’œuvre sera complétée le 4 juillet.

Vitesse. Animaux éclatés sur l’asphalte. Pétrole. Pipi stop. Rouge. Jaune. Vert. Un arc-en-ciel de couleurs et de bruit. Corneilles et goélands à l’affût. Roulotte à café et gâteaux. Camions endormis à la queue leu leu. Fast food. Trucks et remorques. Chiens qui jappent, chiens qui chient. Claquements de portières. Cris, engueulades familiales. S’étirer en bâillant. Relaxer un peu. Manger une croute sur la table à pique-nique. Un rire dans le ouissshhh des bolides. Poubelles qui débordent. Remballer. Reprendre la route. Vers la mer, vers la ville, vers les States, vers la Beauce, vers Baie-Johan-Beetz.

– Alain-Martin Richard


œuvres antérieures

Exposition sur corde à linge

2016 | photo Alain-Martin Richard

Montréal

Essai d’extraction

2009 | photo Ivan Binet

Folie/Culture, Québec

Le bloc que j’habite

2014 | photo Alain-Martin Richard

la Manif d’art, Québec

Achetez un sans abris québécois

2009 | photo Francis Arguin

Beijing


œuvre Truck Stop

Viens, on va regarder passer les marmottes | 2017

à venir