Patrick Bérubé

Montréal

Play Reality | 2017

Photo : Charles-Frédérick Ouellet

 

Patrick Bérubé

 

Montréal

At the moment when “fiction” surpasses “reality,” the work of Patrick Bérubé tries to set the record straight!  With our eyes glued to our so-called intelligent objects, we are less conscious of what surrounds us and our own reality is folded into these screens, especially on the road and in the passenger seat.

Through the artwork which takes the form of a “play” button, the artist creates a visual rupture. In integrating the symbol from our everyday virtual life with the emblematic entity of agricultural heritage, the artist creates a surprising anomaly which forces the viewer to stop and question themselves and construct their own story.

In his work, Patrick Bérubé creates discontinuities that destabilize, causing passers-by to interrogate these irregularities. Bérubé generates astonishing images, always with a hint of humor, which place the viewer in a position of doubt and mystery, forcing them to come closer to finding an understanding between things which are normally incompatible.

website

Patrick Bérubé

Montréal

 

Patrick Bérubé

Montréal

Au moment où la “fiction” dépasse la “réalité”, l’œuvre de Patrick Bérubé tente de remettre les pendules à l’heure. Les yeux rivés vers nos appareils, dits intelligents, nous avons moins conscience de ce qui nous entoure et notre propre réalité se replie à l’intérieur de ces écrans, surtout sur la route.

À travers l’œuvre dont la forme reprend le bouton de lecture « play », l’artiste crée une rupture visuelle. En intégrant ce symbole de notre quotidien virtuel à la figure emblématique du patrimoine agricole, l’artiste crée une anomalie surprenante qui force le regardeur à s’arrêter  et à se questionner pour construire son propre récit.

Dans son travail, Patrick Bérubé crée des discontinuités qui déstabilisent, amenant le promeneur à s‘interroger sur ces irrégularités. Bérubé créé des images étonnantes, toujours avec une pointe d’humour, qui placent le regardeur dans une position de doute et de mystère, le forçant à rapprocher des éléments qui seraient normalement incompatibles.

site web


œuvre Truck Stop

Se jouer du réel | 2017

SE JOUER DU RÉEL

2017 | photo Patrick Bérubé

Esquisse du projet qui sera réalisé sur une grange de la ferme Roland Plante à Saint-Janvier-de-Joly.